Diane Kaplan

In 2001, Diane Kaplan was named president of the Anchorage-based Rasmuson Foundation, one of the largest private foundations in the Pacific Northwest. She began administering the Foundation in 1995. From 1994-2001, Kaplan's consulting company provided management and government relations services to philanthropic and nonprofit organizations and Native corporations and tribes. She was previously president and chief executive officer of Alaska's 28-station public radio network. Kaplan earned a degree in Communications and Women's Studies from the University of Pennsylvania, graduating summa cum laude. She was elected to Phi Beta Kappa. She attended executive management programs at the Wharton School, Stanford University and UC Berkeley.

Kaplan was appointed by Governor's Murkowski, Palin and Parnell to the Alaska Children's Trust and currently serves as its chair. She served on the transition teams for Governors Knowles and Parnell. She is a founding board member of United States Artists and The Foraker Group, and is an advisory board member of the Anchorage Schools Foundation, Alaska Native Heritage Month, University of Alaska Honors College, Alaska Railroad Corporation, Philanthropy Northwest and a member of the National Center for Family Philanthropy Issues Advisory Committee. In addition, she is a member of the Anchorage Rotary Club.

Ms. Kaplan received the Distinguished Grantmaker Award, the highest honor awarded by the Council on Foundations, in 2007. In 2006, she received the Denali Award from the Alaska Federation of Natives, the highest honor given to a non-native person. Her community contributions have been recognized by the National Organization of Black Elected Legislative Women, YWCA, and Anchorage Chamber of Commerce ATHENA Society.