Rasmuson Foundation offers one $40,000 Distinguished Artist Award annually in recognition of creative excellence and superior accomplishments in the arts. The award is a validation of the artist's creative output and contributions to the state of Alaska. For more information about awards available to artists, please click here.

Only mature, established artists are eligible to receive the Distinguished Artist Award. Mature artists are those who have created an extensive independent body of work representing a life-long investigation and maturation of their personal creativity. They demonstrate a high aesthetic level of artistic ability with a strong consistency of expression over at least a 15 year professional arts career. Artists working in any artistic discipline are eligible for the award.

We welcome public nominations of artists who meet the Distinguished Artist Award criteria. Artists can nominate themselves. An application package from the artist is not necessary to receive this award. Please complete and submit the form below.

Nominee Name (First / Last)
Artistic Discipline
Nominee E-Mail
Nominee Phone
Nominee Mailing Address
State Alaska
Please summarizes the artist's accomplishments and why you believe they meet the criteria for this award (300 words max)
Please leave this box empty if it is visible.
I have read and thoroughly considered the candidate I am nominating within the criteria upon which the Award is based. I understand as a result of nominating this individual and assuming they meet the criteria upon which the Award is based, that they will be included in the Distinguished Artist Award review and selection process.
Your Name
Your Phone
Your E-Mail