Who May Apply

Artists may apply for an Individual Artist Award if they meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • You must have been a full-time Alaska resident for the past two (2) years at the time of your application and remain one for the duration of the grant period.
  • You must be 18 years of age or older.
  • You must be an artist who is currently producing work.
Artists are NOT eligible to apply if they are:
  • A student enrolled in any degree-seeking program at any educational level.
  • A current board member, committee member, staff member, or consultant for the Rasmuson Foundation, current panelist, or member of their immediate families.
  • Individuals whose work or project is primarily of a research, scholarly, or commercial nature.
The Foundation defines the artist career stages as follows:

Emerging Artists are those in the early stages of their professional careers. Their work has begun to take shape and their output contains the seeds of further artistic development.

Mid-career Artists are those who have created an independent body of work and have made a recognized contribution to their discipline through public presentation of their work. They have been steady in their progression as an artist over a five (5) to ten (10) year period. They are challenging themselves to explore other avenues of expression as well as deepening the creative modalities that have brought them to this artistic stage.

Mature Artists are those who have created an extensive independent body of work representing a life-long investigation and maturation of their personal creativity. They demonstrate a high aesthetic level of artistic ability with a strong consistency of expression over at least a fifteen (15) year professional arts career.


Selection criteria for awards include:

  • The quality of artistic work within the context of the individual's experience, training, and career stage.
  • The artist's creative accomplishments and the promise of future artistic excellence.
  • The impact an award at this time will likely have on the applicant's future artistic and career growth.
Selection Process

Awards are granted on a competitive basis and selection will be made through a two-step process:
  • Preliminary discipline-specific panels will review applications and select a pool of finalists.
  • An interdisciplinary panel will review the finalists' applications and make the final selection decisions.
Decisions are final and are not subject to appeal. The selection process will take approximately 8 to 12 weeks, and all applicants will be notified of the panel's decisions after the selections have been made.

Award Terms

Rasmuson Individual Artist Award recipients will sign a grant agreement before receipt of award funds. The one-year award period begins June 1 and ends May 31 for the March 1 deadline; and begins December 1 and ends November 30 for the September 1 deadline. At the end of the award period, awardees will submit a short narrative describing what he/she has accomplished and its importance to his/her ongoing artistic and career development. Such accomplishments do not have to be solely in the form of artistic products, but may also include knowledge acquired, experience gained, personal growth achieved, and/or experiments undertaken that point the artist in new directions, whether successful or not.

The Rasmuson Foundation will also hold occasional informal artists' gatherings during the award period where award recipients, both present and past, will meet with each other and invited guests to exchange ideas and practical information, to discuss artistic issues and the progress of current creative activities, as well as other subjects of interest.

All three awards share the same instructions and application forms. For an application go to:

Individual Artist Award application